Posted on

I’m a beginner Pagan and interested in working a few spells; are there certain requirements when casting spells like a circle or pentagram?

“I am a beginner pagan and i would like to know as I am interested in working a few spells that span a different range of categories if there are any certain requirements when casting a draconic type of spell? Also when casting any spells in particular, as i said im a beginner to casting, are there any requirements such as a circle or pentagram?”

Generally speaking, a spell is a small piece of magic done with or without casting a circle, calling deities, or using any traditional tools. A spell can be a chant said to the moon or a candle burning to eat up negativity in a room. A ritual is a more formal type of magic; often, rituals include a structure of casting circle, calling energies, doing your magic, and then releasing what was called. In a ritual, you may include a spell between simply celebrating the season or acknowledging the full moon.

By a “draconic” spell, I’m assuming you mean a spell using dragon energies. In that case, I would strongly suggest further research on your end before any attempts. A wise adage would be “don’t call up what you can’t put down”, or don’t work with things you don’t fully understand. As a beginner pagan, it would be wise to learn as much as you can about the mechanics of energywork, spellcasting, and focus before attempting any magic.

Spells take on many forms, often based on their intent. A spell to send a message might involve toss a paper into the air, as Air is associated with communication. A spell to calm turbulent moods might include saying a chant while in the shower, as Water is associated with emotions and balance. Spells are simply the actions you use to direct your energies toward a goal.

I would suggest taking a look at the Wicca 101 list here. Several of the titles include a chapter or section on spell writing and technique. I especially recommend suggestion [7] Earth Power and Earth, Air, Fire and Water by Scott Cunningham. Both books are focused on natural spells, as opposed to full-blown rituals as found in some pagan books. I would also suggest practicing spells such as self-balance and inner peace on yourself; while it may seem less than exciting, the chances of harm or misdirected energies are much smaller while you learn to raise and direct energy toward a focused goal.

 

Larissa Lee
Guest Writer

3 responses to “I’m a beginner Pagan and interested in working a few spells; are there certain requirements when casting spells like a circle or pentagram?

  1. Tracy ⋅

    Hey, All thanks to the GREATEST LORD
    WAKAMAN. May all the Praise be give to him. I
    am Tracy from USA, I want to use this possible
    means to appreciate one man I hold in sincere
    gratitude and high esteem for this help and his
    kindness he has rendered to me. Without
    compromising word, Greatest lord Wakaman
    helped me in getting back my long lost
    relationship and also bring back my life to lime
    light when I thought all was gone. I am a new
    creature now with the help of his powerful spell,
    and he also rendered help to 2 of my very good
    friends I also introduced to him, one got back his
    huge amount of money, and the other is now a
    happy mother with 2 kiddies now and many
    more I have seen in different forms. Friends out
    there, I Plead with you, search no further for
    scammers who act as real spell casters, the
    realest and most true spell caster is greatest
    Lord wakaman. He is so true in his words, and
    his words are substantial. Contact him now on
    greatestlordwakaman@gmail.com he is more
    than willing to put an end to what you may be
    pass through now

  2. Destini ⋅

    I think I’m pagan and want to worship Aphrodite, I can’t find a self cleansing spell that just involves a chant. I want to start fresh in worshiping my goddess.

  3. kj ⋅

    i cant find nothing but worsiping and casting spells with a pentargram is black witchery and not permited and i cant find legit latin readings of spells and chants im only new but i have and old wisdom of a friend to help me

Leave a Reply

