Posted on

I’m going back to school next week, and I plan on wearing my pentacle necklace, but I’m afraid that it will just give bullies more of me to make fun of or insult. Do you think it’s a mistake to wear my pentacle to openly?

“I’m going back to school next week, and I plan on wearing my pentacle necklace, but I’m afraid that it will just give bullies more of me to make fun of or insult. I’ve been a victim of their teasing all my life, and I want to be open about my religion and perhaps bust a few myths about Wicca that some may believe in. Do you think it’s a mistake to wear my pentacle to openly?”

Simple answer: Yes. If you’re already a victim of bullying, then why would you want to put yourself in an even bigger spotlight? Wicca has a practice of “being silent,” and sure you might want to debunk a few myths about the Craft, but it shouldn’t be at the expense of being teased and bullied. The only time during your educational career when it’s okay and somewhat safe to openly wear a pentacle is in college.

As for right now. Keep it to yourself. Wear it under your shirt. If it happens to fall out or if someone sees it and asks questions, then by all means explain. But don’t bring more unnecessary attention to yourself unless you want to face the consequences.

Don’t feel like you have to show off your religion to be open about it. There are other ways, especially for the Craft. Wearing crystals, herb or flower sachets – Crafts of the Craft; and if someone asks about it, tell them what it is, but at least that way you won’t have the tittle “evil witch” and be bullied at the same time. Don’t intentionally get into harms way. Being bullied is a scaring experience, so don’t feed their ignorance.

 

Blessed Be
Sage

3 responses to “I’m going back to school next week, and I plan on wearing my pentacle necklace, but I’m afraid that it will just give bullies more of me to make fun of or insult. Do you think it’s a mistake to wear my pentacle to openly?

  1. I’m gonna add to your comments here that in some situations (a college environment in my experience) it can be liberating and empowering to wear a pentagram or triple moon. I agree it’s not a good idea to open yourself up to bullying, especially if you know it’s likely to happen anyway, but in a place that’s more neutral you should definitely be yourself.

  2. Pingback: I’m interested and wanting to further pursue Wicca, but I’m already the “freaky, emo girl” to everyone. It’s something I’m interested in, but is it worth to keep learning if I might end up being bullied? « Ask a P

  3. J ⋅

    I began wearing my pentacle to school recently, and so far I have been stopped by a few teachers. However, ALL of them were congratulating me for wearing it and asking very relevant questions about my tradition and practice. I’m a solitary, though I have made contact with a local coven. I have not experienced any sort of bullying, but it might just be that I’m not the sort of person that bullies prey on to begin with. I think schools are moving onwards for the better in terms of educating themselves about accepting others’ religions and faiths. While I do believe that pagan spirituality is not something to be flung at people’s faces, I don’t see any issue with wearing a symbol of my belief or spirituality if it doesn’t cause any trouble.

    Most of my friends are Christians and they too ask very intelligent and relevant questions regarding the history of and ethics of witchcraft. Not one person has even mentioned or even implied the (what I thought to be) common misconception of Wicca and satanism. As a high school student, I have been surprised to get into very detailed and thought provoking debates on the rise of and appeal of Goddess Worship and neo-pagan religion with Christian classmates.

    I do go to a very high achieving school, and am friends with very intelligent and well-educated students, so I suppose this might account partly for the open-mindedness. Regardless, I feel that very soon pagans will have the freedom to wear pentacles to school or work without feeling threat of prejudice.

    I love reading your posts.
    Cheers and Blessed Be,
    J

Leave a Reply

