Posted on

Wicca 101: Books for beginning and furthering your Wiccan studies!

Discovering Wicca, Witchcraft, Paganism can be one of the most thrilling things you can stumble upon. Especially if it grasps your attention and “calls your name” to look into it further. Nowadays, there are a plethora of books, articles, and websites about the Craft. There are more intro and Wicca 101 books than there are “advanced” or “advanced magick” books. Mostly because advancing in your practice is a personal experience and not something you can learn from a book. Because we all learn, experience things, understand, and practice differently, that’s the only way we can truly “advance.”

So… For those who just starting into the world of Wicca, beginning, or just curious. Here are some of the best books I think that every Wiccan should own, read and use as references. As you’ll see throughout this list, Scott Cunningham is a big favorite.

 1. Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner.

This is literally, probably my favorite book of all time. It’s the first book I ever read about Wicca, and it’s a book I still use today, 10 years later, as reference and as a guide to writing my own blessings and spells. It covers everything Wicca 101: history, beliefs, deities, spells, rituals, sabbats, etc., and even includes a section of Cunningham’s Book of Shadows at the end of the book.

 2. The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Wicca and Witchcraft, 3rd Edition.

Another favorite is the idiot’s guide. Obviously if you can comprehend reading a book, than you’re not an idiot. But this book is literally PACKED with so much great information it’s hard not to pick up and read! This is one of the “bigger” books I first started reading and took me the longest to finish, but it’s so worth it. With all the information in this book, it’s definitely ranks as one of the better reference books out there.

 3. Buckland’s Complete Book of Witchcraft.

Buckland isn’t exactly on my love list of authors, but it’s undoubtable that he has some great books – his Complete Book of Witchcraft being one of them. This book is pretty much a “lesson plan” kind of book, where each chapter is a “lesson” and at the end of each chapter you have a little quiz on what you learned. The book isn’t geared just towards Witchcraft – it starts out that way, but then it goes into the different traditions of Wicca. One thing about Buckland is that he’s always been apart of a coven, so the rituals in this book are written for group work, but there are some solitary works as well.

 4. Living Wicca: A Further Guide for the Solitary Practitioner.

Living Wicca by Scott Cunningham is a great book to start reading once you’ve gotten past the intro and 101 books. In this book, Cunningham goes further into the “Learning” of the craft with chapters on tools, magickal names, self-initiation, prayers and chants, creating a new path, deities, ritual design, and about teaching the Craft. The topics might not be “new” to you and you might have some concept of the topics in the chapters, but this book takes those basic ideas that you already have and expands on them, so it makes it just a little over a basic 101 book.

 5. Sabbats: A Witch’s Approach to Living the Old Ways.

Sabbats by McCoy is probably one of the best Sabbats books I’ve ever gotten my hands on! It’s literally the perfect Sabbats book you can find on the shelves. McCoy talks about the history, origin, practices, and traditions of each of the Sabbats. McCoy also includes group and solitary rituals, recipes, and crafts for each of the Sabbats. It’s one of the must-have Sabbats books for every beginner and experienced Witch!

 6. The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews.

I go back to this book for reference and recipes more times than any other book I own! This book helped my curiosity, experience and knowledge of natural magick and herbs. It’s because of the herb combinations and brews from this book that I have a great knowledge of herbalism. This book contains recipes for pretty much anything and everything! Love, money, protection, gods, goddesses, sabbats, esbats, and so much more! Cunningham goes into details the best ways and basic ingredients to make incense, oils and brews. A great book for any Witch wanting to expand his/her knowledge of herbalism and natural magick.

  7. Earth Power: Techniques of Natural Magic and Earth, Air, Fire & Water: More Techniques of Natural Magic.

My final books and the last of Cunningham on my list are the Earth Power; and Earth, Air, Fire & Water books. Earth Power came out first and Cunningham had no intentions of writing another book like it, but by “popular demand,” EAF&W was written. These books are another big part of the impact and knowledge of natural magick in my practice. In Earth Power, Cunningham goes into brief detail about the magics of all the elements, as well as stone, tree, knot, candle, mirror, and sea magic – along with others. In EAF&W, Cunningham has almost the same Table of Contents, but goes into even MORE detail about the elements and nature magic. If your curiosity and interests sparks at all about natural magick, then these are some must-have books to add to your Witchy library!

NOTE: There will be another entry on more “advanced” Craft. So stay put!

8 responses to “Wicca 101: Books for beginning and furthering your Wiccan studies!

  1. Pingback: Where do I start learning Paganism? What’s the Pagan Bible and necessities of the Craft? « Ask a Pagan

  2. Pingback: I’ve always been interested and intrigued by Wicca yet I’m absolutely petrified to try anything. I don’t know exactly what to do or I doubt myself to the point where I don’t try. Advice? « Ask a Pagan

  3. Pingback: I like to describe myself as a person who believes in the universal energy that flows through all living things. I have never really found a set religion or path to take – Maybe a form of Paganism might suit me? « Ask a Pagan

  4. Pingback: I’ve read a lot about spirituality over the past couple of years, but I don’t feel like I really know anything. I want to learn more about meditation, chakras, astral projection, hypnosis – what reading material could you recommend? | As

  5. Pingback: I’ve started researching the craft and I’d like some verification on a few points I’ve gathered, I don’t want to advance while learning the wrong principals. | Ask a Pagan

  6. Pingback: I’m a beginner Pagan and interested in working a few spells; are there certain requirements when casting spells like a circle or pentagram? | Ask a Pagan

  7. raul matulis ⋅

    i like the book of wicca i’m interest how to learn a wicthcraft its good for me

  8. Hi I really liked your post and I just wanted to say that I have mentioned your list, (and included a hyperlink to this page), on a post I made in my blog about beginner reading lists for Wiccans.

    If you wanted to check out the post you can jump to my blog at the link below.
    http://my-yellow-brick-road-madness.blogspot.com.au/

Leave a Reply

